Lori OstlundLori Ostlund

Winner of the Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction


After the Parade

Novel: Scribner, September 2015

“AFTER THE PARADE  follows Aaron Englund as he leaves his longtime partner and moves to San Francisco, prompting him to revisit a Midwestern childhood defined by his father’s death and his mother’s depression.”


The Bigness of the World

Stories by Lori Ostlund

~Winner of the California Book Award for First Fiction and the Edmund White Debut Fiction Award

~Stories chosen for Best American Short Stories 2010 and 2011 PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories

“This is a book to remake our imaginary landscape—the kind of book I not only recommend, I advocate. Read this, I want to tell people. You need these stories. You do.”
—Dorothy Allison, author of Bastard Out of Carolina and Trash

“Each piece is sublime.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

In the eleven stories in The Bigness of the World we see that wherever you are in the world, where you came from is never far away.

Find out more: About the Stories | Reviews | Buy the Book


October 19th, 2014: I was very excited to learn that “The Gap Year,” which appeared in The Southern Review in Autumn 2013, has made the “Notables” list for the 2014 Best American Short Stories.

October 19th, 2014: I’m pleased to have a new story, “The Peeping Toms,” in the Fall 2014 issue of The Kenyon Review.

August 14th, 2014: I’m thrilled to announce that my novel AFTER THE PARADE will be published by Scribner Read More

December 22nd, 2011: One of my best experiences as a writer happened when I was a fellow at the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference in 2010. Read More

December 4th, 2011: “All Boy” seems to have a life of its own. Most recently, it was reprinted in the UK’s Port magazine, Read More